Staff Recognition

clip art of award ribbon with gold circle and red and blue ribbons

Glastonbury Public Schools is proud of our many staff accomplishments!

clip art of award ribbon with gold circle and red and blue ribbons


Mary Pat Coburn (Smith Middle School Science) was Elected Middle Level Director for the National Science Teachers Association.

Ann Marie Colebrook (Director of Health and Physical Education) and Cynthia Dysenchuk (GHS Health and Physical Education) received SHAPE America’s (Society of Health and Physical Educators) Linda Woods-Huber Recognition Award. This award recognizes distinguished service in the fields of health and physical education.

Several members of the Foreign Language Department collaborated on the newly published book Teaching Intercultural Competence Across the Age Range, From Theory to Practice. Dorie Conlon Perugini (Naubuc) was a co-editor and writer. Contributors from Glastonbury Schools also include: Patty Silvey (Hopewell), Lauren Kagan (Gideon Welles), Jean Despoteris (Smith Middle School), Sarah Lindstrom (GHS), and Rita Oleksak (Director of Foreign Languages/ELL).

Congratulations to the Glastonbury Public Schools Foreign Language Department, recipient of the American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL) Melba D. Woodruff Award for Exemplary Elementary Foreign Language Programs. This award recognizes our district’s commitment to providing elementary students with an outstanding foreign language program. We are proud of our quality curriculum and our dedicated foreign language educators.

Glastonbury Public Schools was recognized by the Connecticut Office of the Secretary of State and the State of Connecticut Department of Education as a 2017-2018 Red, White & Blue School District . This distinction is awarded to schools that foster strong civic engagement among students. The recognition is a wonderful reflection of the work of our History and Social Sciences Department and the abundant and meaningful connections between our school district, it's curriculum, and the Glastonbury community.

For the sixth year in a row, Glastonbury Public Schools has been recognized by the NAMM (National Association of Music Merchants) Foundation for its outstanding commitment to music education. Glastonbury joins 16 Connecticut school districts in receiving the “Best Communities for Music Education designation. Congratulations to the Music Department!

Glastonbury Public Schools recently received several awards from the Connecticut Association of Boards of Education (CABE). Our district was honored with following 2016 Bonnie B. Carney Awards of Excellence for Educational Communications: The Board of Education's 2017-2018 Budget document (First Place); the district's 2016 Art School Calendar (First Place); and the district's 2016 Veterans Day Slideshow (First Place).

Congratulations to Brenda Gregorski (GHS Math) and Diane Pintavalle (GHS Science) who have both been selected as State Finalists in the 2017 Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST). If chosen as a national finalist, these teachers would be honored at the White House in Washington D.C. Joshua Steffenson (GHS Science) and Rich Broggini (SMS Science) have both received these prestigious Presidential Awards and made the trip to Washington in the last two years!

Sandra Gustafson (GHS Art) has had her artwork selected for two exhibits this fall: 1) Sandra's acrylic portrait will be on display at the National Art Education Association (NAEA) Studio & Gallery in Alexandria, Virginia, from October 1, 2017 through April 15, 2018. Sixty works were selected from over 450 submissions nationwide for this exhibit. 2) Sandra's mixed media piece, "Reclining," was accepted into the 'Drawing from Perception VIII' art show, a national juried drawing exhibition organized by Wright State University’s Robert and Elaine Stein Galleries and the Department of Art and Art History. Her work will be on display from January 16 through February 25, 2018 at the Wright State University Creative Arts Center, in the Robert & Elaine Stein Galleries, Dayton Ohio.

Gideon Welles Acting Principal Scott Hurwitz was presented with the School Superintendents Association's Educational Administration Scholarship Award at their 2018 national conference. Mr. Hurwitz was recognized for his excellence in school administration. He champions a school culture where "we are all learners." His students and school community have certainly benefited from his exceptional expertise and compassion through the years.

Lynn Lettieri (Buttonball Lane/LINKS Art) is the recipient of the 2018 Connecticut Art Education Association's Elementary Art Educator Award. This annual award honors a teacher’s dedication and commitment to students and to the profession. Lynn will be recognized at an awards ceremony this spring.

Cindy Parsons (Director of Art) received the Eastern Region Supervision and Administration Art Educator Award. This award was bestowed by the National Art Education Association (NAEA). NAEA supports instructional practice, research, and leadership in visual arts education.

Mark Pearsall (GHS Foreign Language) has been elected At-Large Member of the Board of Governors for the American Classical League.

David Polochanin (Gideon Welles English) received the UCONN CT Writing Project Poetry Award for his poem “Not the Prettiest Day” (see p. 5). There is only a single winner in the state.

Dr. Ken Roy (Director of Environmental Health & Chemical Safety) recently coauthored and self-published his 10th safety related book titled "Safer Makerspaces, Fab Labs, and STEM Labs: A Collaborative Guide!" This is the only book currently available on the planet dealing with this topic. Click here for more information on the book.

Dr. Ken Roy (Director of Environmental Health & Chemical Safety) has recently achieved advanced level 3 Tai Chi/Qigong. He has been formally practicing Tai Chi/Qigong for over 15 years. He has been specializing in medical Qigong treatment. Medical Qigong is a branch of traditional Chinese medicine emerging as a cornerstone of many Eastern-influenced alternative medicine practices.

Natalie Lynne Smith (GHS Special Education) received the Connecticut Council of Family Service Agencies 2018 Family Champion Award. This award recognizes individuals who consistently give more, reach further, and take bold steps to strengthen and improve the lives of families in our state.

Jimmy Wildman (GHS Foreign Language) was elected to the Board of the Northeast Conference on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (NECTFL).