Staff Recognition

                   image of two golden stick figure people holding briefcases and shaking hands

Glastonbury Public Schools
2016-2017 Staff Awards & Recognition

Glastonbury Public Schools was recently recognized as a District of Distinction by District Administration magazine. Our school system is one of 24 school systems in the nation recognized for "established initiatives that are yielding quantifiable benefits that could be replicated by other districts." We were commended for "Building a 21st Century Professional Learning Community to Support iPad Integration." This award is a credit to our teachers, our administrators, and all of our support staff. Click here for more information about the District of Distinction award.

Rich Broggini (SMS Science) was recently honored with the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching. This is the nation's highest honor for teachers of mathematics and science. Awardees serve as models for their colleagues, inspiration to their communities, and leaders in the improvement of mathematics and science education. Mr. Broggini received a citation signed by President Obama as well as a $10,000 award at a ceremony in Washington, DC.
Click here to learn more about Rich Broggini

Kate Egan (GHS Health and P.E.) was selected as the Health Education Teacher of the Year by CTAHPERD (CT Association for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance). Kate was recognized for her outstanding work with both students and staff and for making a difference in our school system every day.

Jan Eklund (GHS Foreign Language) was selected as a University of Chicago Outstanding Educator. She was nominated by a former GHS student for this award which recognizes high school educators for challenging students and opening them to new vistas and realms of discovery.

Lily Grant (GWS Music) published two choral arrangements:  "Yued Gwong Gwong"—Published by Boosey & Hawkes; "Gong Xi Gong Xi"—Published by Carl Fisher.

Debbie Howard (ELL Coordinator) published a book of haiku poetry titled Haiku 52, A Journey Through the Year in Poetry

Rita Oleksak (Director of Foreign Language/ELL) was elected the 2017-2018 President-Elect to the Joint National Committee for Languages–National Council for Languages and International Studies (JNCL-NCLIS) in Washington, D.C.

Dr. Ken Roy (Director of Environmental Health and Safety) has been chosen as the NSTA Safety Blogger for the new National Science Teachers Association Safety Blog. The blog deals with issues related to laboratory safety for science teachers, supervisors and administrators. Subscription to the site is free.

Amy Snyder (EA Library Paraprofessional) has written a book titled “Unfinished” which will be released this summer via Amazon, Kindle, iBooks, Kobo and Barnes & Noble. It is the story of Mirabelle, a writer who never finishes any of her stories. Her characters come to life to persuade her and manipulate her to finish their stories, which affects her life, her sanity and her marriage.